Dakar 2015

Unquestionably the toughest race on the motorsport calendar, the Dakar is the ultimate test of man and machine. Leading the way for the past 13 years however are the orange army of KTM, who have won every Dakar since 2001 (there was no event in 2008).

Kicking off last Sunday, the Red Bull KTM Factory Racing team are once again favourites as defending champion Marc Coma heads the pack. Joining the favourite in the team is fellow Spanish rider Jordi Viladoms (who finished second to Coma in 2014), Ruben Faria (who finished second in 2013) and Britain’s very Sam Sunderland who makes his Dakar debut with the KTM factory team.

The 2015 Dakar starts and finishes in Buenos Aires and will see the 168 riders travel West across the Andes into Chile before heading North to Bolivia. They then cross the Andes again and head back to the Argentine capital via a different route, seeing them cover a total 9,295km – with only one day of rest!

Some key facts about the Dakar 2015:

Longest distance in a single day: 1024km – 636.3 miles (Stage 12)

  • Longest timed special: 781km – 485.3 miles (Stage 8)
  • Shortest distance in a single day: 393km – 244.2 miles (Stage 13)
  • Support vehicles: 3 x 26-ton MAN support trucks; 4 x air-conditioned Adria motorhomes for riders’ sleeping quarters (10-12 hours on the bike)
  • Average rainfall in the Atacama Desert (Chile): 0mm
  • Total number of competitors (in motorcycle class): 168
  • Number of KTM starters: 88
  • Engine capacity of KTM Rally machine: 450cc
  • Number of KTM Dakar victories: 13
  • Number of Dakar victories for KTM’s Marc Coma: 4 

Marc Coma taking the podium

The Buzz Archive

Article Categories